Compliance Summary
Compliance Summary Tool
Transportation Modes
Service Functions
All Topics
Please note: This summary is provided to help you understand the regulations. Consult the references provided for links to the full text of the regulations.

Alternative Fuels -- State Regulations for Maine

This page contains selected data from the Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) at the U. S. Department of Energy. Additional details and the latest updates may be found at the AFDC summary page for Maine.

Vehicle Acquisition

State agency vehicles

The Maine State Purchasing Agent may not purchase or lease any car or light-duty truck for use by any state department or agency unless the car or truck has a manufacturer's estimated highway mileage rating of at least 45 miles per gallon (mpg) or 35 mpg, respectively. Cars and light-duty trucks purchased for law enforcement and other special use purposes the State Purchasing Agent designates are exempt from this requirement. (Reference Maine Revised Statutes Title 5, Section 1812-E)

Fuel Use

All vehicles (plan)

By December 1, 2012, the Maine Office of Energy Independence and Security (Office) must develop a plan to reduce petroleum consumption in all sectors of the economy with the overall goal of reducing petroleum consumption in the state by at least 30% and 50%, based on 2007 levels, by 2030 and 2050, respectively. The plan must prioritize the use of alternative energy sources for transportation. The Office must include an update on the progress towards meeting these goals in the state's biennial comprehensive energy plan. (Reference Maine Revised Statutes Title 2, Section 9)


Insurance Incentives

An insurer may credit or refund any portion of the premium charged for an insurance policy on a clean fuel vehicle in order to encourage its policyholders to use clean fuel vehicles, as long as insurance premiums on other vehicles are not increased to fund these credits or refunds. (Reference Maine Revised Statutes Title 10, Sections 963-A, and Title 24-A, Section 2303-B)

Tax (alternative fuels)

Blended fuels that contain at least 10% gasoline or diesel are taxed at the full tax rates of gasoline ($0.30 per gallon) or diesel ($0.312 per gallon). For more information see the Maine Revenue Services website. (Reference Maine Revised Statutes Title 36, Section 3203)

Weight Limit Exemption (idle reduction)

Any vehicle equipped with a qualified auxiliary power unit (APU) may exceed the state's gross vehicle and axle weight limits by up to 400 pounds to compensate for the additional weight of the APU. (Reference Maine Revised Statutes Title 29-A, Section 2360)